Skip to content

False people were reported: Recent events were as welcome as the SnapChat bug

June 3, 2015
Shapchat

Recently, Lifelock called me how they were doing with their identity protection service. So far, it was loved by me because they caught a few people using similar e-mail addresses to mine but the password was wrong, so there wa no reason to be alarmed. When they asked me about strange phone calls, the harassment of PCSPEEDY.COM came to mind.

This was as welcome as the new Snapchat bug on ohe IPhone. Any direct mention of this bug on Twitter caused the program to shut down and reboot itself through the said app, which sent renegade text messages to the user on their phone. Users of this service had to delete the thread by following instructions from the support page. Once the thread was opened the fault could’ve been removed.

Why did anyone make money off of the misery or misfortunes of others? The best answer for that was man’s fall from the Garden of Eden when Adam and Eve ate from the Tree of Knowledge. Personally there hasdn’t been a reason for my use of this service or instagram. Just learning how to collage pictures of the local flooding was enough for me. Getting a side show up was difficult with the pictures being too small.

Thankfully, there wasn’t any reason to have to have gone through the above company to have made a complaint. My efforts to report this the first time didn’t work. The phone numbers weren’t in the right format on the FCC site which caused errors. After contacting them last week, not only was what they were doing harassment and a felony, spoofing was falsely presenting oneself as another type of person.

Here was what the Bible said:

Exodus 20:16

16 “You shall not give false testimony against your neighbor. (NIV)

If anyone wondered how my knowing that these people were frauds, Yes, they were! Here was a list of red flags to watch out for.

1. They called me on a weekend after 5 p.m.Most good companies kept working hours
2. They never ‘fixed’ my so called poblem. My computer was down till Monday. They gave me the name of another company to call.
3. They wouldn’t fix it till they had a signed contract and gave them a credit card number. When calling these independent tech lines, they charged up to $99 per call out right.
4. I had to call another service company to fix it. They didn’t have a clue as to the other tech was that gave that company’s number.
5 The real company had a toll number to call and they have a fraud watch alert on their site.

What’s worse was that they were using dummy numbers to avoid being blocked or tracked by the Better Business Bureau trying to demand payment out of me. My red flagging them with the credit card company to keep them from recharging me in January after the first call. Was there anything else that could’ve been done other than just not answering these strange numbers by turning off the ringer? Other than changing my number, or purchasing another call blocking feature outside of the company, not much.

After filing a complaint with the FCC May 27 and the FTC on May 28 because of PCSpeedy.com and their harassment for the last few months,.my advice would’ve been to keep a detailed record of the date of the original call where they introduced themselves and any numbers they called from. Since my finding out from my phone company, there were only15 slots on my land line call blocking feature my buying another call blocking system in the next couple of days, had become unnecessary because of the Do Not Call Registry. Changing the voicemail message on my landline phone made me quite clear about sales calls or whether my knowing where the nearest KB Toy Store was.

Leave a Reply

