Skip to content

Did appearance really matter? Miss Universe Japan contestant still beautiful

March 25, 2015

Why were people so critical of others ethnicity? As long as there was any kind of bias, there will always be critics. Now the Japanese Miss Universe didn’t appear Japanese enough for her crown. According to one article, Miss Ariana Miyamoto spoke fluent Japanese, grew up in Nagasaki, Japan, but was still seen as a ‘hafu’ or half-Japanese. This was because her mother was Japanese and her father was African-American. She was still beautiful enough to wear thee crown in Japan so what did it matter?

Her critics, according to another article were saying that she had too much ‘black’ in her to be Japanese. She looked too foreign to fit the mold of what they expected. For me, my friends in elementary school overseas paid me a compliment when they asked me if I were half-Filipino. Someone told me it was my hair. Yet, for my sister, high school was different. She got blamed for not being ‘truly black’, whatever that meant.

All three of us were raised to speak proper English. My brother was appalled that I picked up the poor grammar of some of my classmates, now called ebonics, in third and fourth grade and told me about it one day. Yet his oldest daughter was allowed to speak it around her friends, but not within her father’s earshot. No matter what the race, children mimicked what they heard. If the parent spoke poorly the child spoke poorly.  So I refuse to believe ebonics was a ‘black’ language. The sad thing about this was children also picked up the racial biases of their parents.

My being disabled meant that the expectations of me were that there was a mental short somewhere in my brain. I didn’t need a lot of help doing every day tasks like cooking, cleaning and bathing myself. I didn’t rely on the state to be employed, or belong to a rehab program.  I got a college education when it wasn’t expected of me to do so. My being a writer was laughed at because it was something done ‘on the side’.

Like Mariah Carey, she faced some opposition entering this competition. She was afraid her looks where going to cause trouble. Maria Carrey also faced something of the same tension Miss Ariana Miyamoto was facing now when becoming a singer. If there were any other hang-ups in her past other than looks, she wouldn’t have been chosen to represent Japan. Legally being born and raised in Japan, except for the four years in high school in America, she was, qualified.  She considered the singer to be a positive role model.

From → Hot Topics, News

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

